Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Boundless by Cynthia Hand


Series: Unearthly (bk. 3)

Genera: Paranormal Romance

Subjects: Angels, nephilim, love, destiny, visions, Wyoming, California, college

Age/Grade Level: Teen/Upper Teen/New Adult

Length: 436 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $17.99

Publisher: HarperTeen

Summary/ product description: “The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she could no longer deny was that she was never meant to have a normal life.
Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seemed like the best option, so she's headed back to California—and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.
As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he's not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won't come without sacrifices and betrayal.
In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must choose her fate once and for all.”

My Rating: êêêêê+

My Review: I hate conclusions, especially to my favorite series. Unearthly is pretty much my favorite, favorite series (besides Maximum Ride). I knew that if I didn’t read it right away, I’d never get to it anytime soon. So I started reading it as soon as I had it. Now that I’m done with it, how do I review the final book to my favorite series? (Towards the end, this may contain SPOILERS) It’s really hard not to spoil stuff. If I knew where to get GIFs, I’d probably review this book using those. Here’s a very unconventional review from mean. Read as far as you dare if you haven’t read Boundless yet.

The Beginning

My feels: excitement, happiness, with a little bit of worry.

I didn’t know what to expect. Didn’t know how it would all end. Clara, Christian and Angela are going to Stanford. I’m missing Jackson Hole and Tucker. I still enjoy the change of scenery. The characters are still themselves. Everything is going pretty well. I’m underlining pretty much any funny or beautifully written quote I can find in metallic pink gel pen. There’s a few new characters and some crazy moment. I like Christian, even though I’m still Team Tucker (cuz he’s a cowboy and sexy). Clara’s taking a class on Happiness.

The Middle

My feels: Thrilled, Surprised. In awe. Not wanting to put the book down even for school work. (procrastination). Angry at my noisy brother because he’s distracting me from getting into it. I want to be really into it. (I even dream that I’m reading the book, strangely enough) In love with Tucker still even if he’s fictional. (I wish I was Clara)

I love the parts where Clara accidently teleports to Tucker’s barn. Yay!!! Tucker is not forgotten and there are some parts in Jackson Hole! Awesome!

OH NO!! REALLY!!!?? ANGELA!!! Why didn’t you tell us? (Seriously, did not expect what happens to Angela). Clara’s dad starts training her and Christian for whatever reason. There’s a creepy crow who turns out to not be a real crow. Also there’s the visions, and Clara and Christian try to figure it out. There’s a really interesting twist. Angela purpose has a very crazy twist.

Towards The End (Last150 pages or so)

My feels:  Extreme surprise. Happiness for being right about stuff. Wariness for how it’s all going to end. OH NO OH NO OH NO!!!!

Did not expect Clara and Christian to be on the run with Angela’s baby Webster. Kind of figured out what Lucy was right away, so no surprise there. Clara sees her mother again, somehow. Hell reminds me of the Netherworld in the Soul Screamers series, but also makes me think of Everneath or even the Wicked Lovely series. There’s a big Christian-related surprise. LOTS OF FREAKIN’ SURPRISES!

The Very End (Last 40 pages)

My Feels: Crying my eyes out, and then eventually relief. (For a while I felt like I was the empathy feeling sorrow. Had to remind myself it’s just a book)

TUCKER NO!!! NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!! (I A VERY MUCH TEAM TUCKER!)

And let’s just say is all works out in the end. The ending is PERFECT!! *grabs tissue box*

 The Epilogue: Yay they take Web to Chicago! But wouldn’t Tuck’s family notice that Clara and Angela haven’t really aged after 9 years? And how old is Midas?

Other Stuff

Some awesome things mentioned in this book: Vampire Academy (Clara has a copy), Dystopian Books (Clara was reading one), Lincoln, Nebraska (I’ve been there, and Clara and Christian are there for a few weeks), Chicago (Christian thinks they should go there next), Zombieland (Christian’s favorite movie and mine too). Lots of awesome.

Read the acknowledgements! Courtney Allison Moulton feeds her horse Pia jelly beans!  That’s why Midas eats jelly beans!

I love this series. I feel like crying my eyes out because with Unearthly and Maximum Ride and almost all my favorite angel books over, I don’t know what to love next. (I’ll probably have to finish the last books in the Hush, Hush, Fallen, Halo, and other series too). I really want another novella from Jeffery’s perspective! And somebody please make Unearthly into a movie!

Cover Art Review: Beautiful as always. I love the metallic pink. I knew it would be pink. I love the title typography. The girl in the dress is nice. I love the dress.

 

~Haley G

Sunday, January 27, 2013

The Dead and Buried by Kim Harrington


Series: THIS IS A STAND-ALONE

Genera: Mystery/Paranormal Thriller

Subjects: Ghosts, hauntings, high school, murder, death, supernatural, gemstones, Massachusetts

Age/Grade Level: Teen

Length: 295 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $17.99

Publisher: Scholastic: Point

Summary/ product description: “A haunted house, a buried mystery, and a very angry ghost make this one unforgettable thriller.
Jade loves the house she's just moved into with her family. She doesn't even mind being the new girl at the high school: It's a fresh start, and there's that one guy with the dreamy blue eyes. . . . But then things begin happening. Strange, otherworldly things. Jade's little brother claims to see a glimmering girl in his room. Jade's jewelry gets moved around, as if by an invisible hand. Kids at school whisper behind her back like they know something she doesn't.
Soon, Jade must face an impossible fact: that her perfect house is haunted. Haunted by a ghost who's seeking not just vengeance, but the truth. The ghost of a girl who ruled Jade's school — until her untimely death last year. It's up to Jade to put the pieces together before her own life is at stake. As Jade investigates the mystery, she discovers that her new friends in town have more than a few deep, dark secrets. But is one of them a murderer?”

My Rating: êêêê

My Review: Talk about an awesome teen murder mystery. Really, it was pretty awesome once you get past some of the clichés of high school stuff. I loved the two other YA novels by this author, Clarity and Perception. I love the first person perspective of a quirky, smart and tough female heroine. My favorite part about Jade’s character is that she’s into gemstones like I am. The only other books I’ve read about characters that are into gemology, jewelry making and other gem magic was the Bloodring Trilogy by Faith Hunter (it’s an adult series about of Stone Mage). I’m a rock hound. Got a collection that is many time larger than Jade’s. And yes, I know the mystical uses of various gems and used to make beaded necklace for certain chakras.

Also, it’s interesting that she moved into the house of the extremely popular mean girl who was murdered. And Kayla’s ghost is pestering her to find her murderer. It reminded me of Auracle by Gina Rosetti, or just the Clarity series. And I loved how this book kept me guessing till the end. I was so sure it was one person, but then they had an alibi. Some people may have guessed who it was right away. I didn’t.

There’s love triangle between Jade, Donovan and Kane. Donovan’s artistic, and Kane’s athletic. I think I prefer Donovan. I like art, or at least, making art. There’s Alexa, who’s academically obsessed and doesn’t seem to think about stuff that isn’t school related, or math. Faye, who was Kayla’s friend. She’s not as mean as Kayla was. Colbey, who is Jades little half-brother, who’s room used to be Kayla’s. I like the interesting names the author chose.

Also, I love a good ghost story, or murder mystery, so it was a nice change of pace from all the paranormal romance and dystopian books I’ve been reading lately. It’s thrilling, fast paced. A page-turner. I read it in a half day, with breaks. It’s a nice, short read. I can’t wait to see what YA Kim Harrington will write next. Hopefully Clarity, book 3. This book is a stand-alone, so no sequel.

Cover Art Review: Hate this new cover. So boring. I loved the original one with the girl coming down the stairs. This one has wet looking cement and a dead girl laying on it. The girl in the book died falling down the stairs. This cover makes no sense. It does not scream ghost story. The back cover has the stair case from the original cover.

 

~Haley G

Thursday, January 24, 2013

The Prey by Andrew Fukuda


Release Date: 1/29/2013

Series: The Hunt Trilogy (bk. 2)

Genera: Dystopian Sci-fi

Subjects: Vampires, survival, adventure

Age/Grade Level: Teen

Length: 322 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $18.99

Publisher: Macmillan: Saint Martin’s Griffin Press

Summary/ product description: “For Gene and the remaining humans—or hepers—death is just a heartbeat away. On the run and hunted by society, they must find a way to survive in The Vast... and avoid the hungry predators tracking them in the dark. But they’re not the only things following Gene. He’s haunted by the girl he left behind and his burgeoning feelings for Sissy, the human girl at his side.
When they discover a refuge of exiled humans living high in the mountains, Gene and his friends think they’re finally safe. Led by a group of intensely secretive elders, the civilization begins to raise more questions than answers. A strict code of behavior is the rule, harsh punishments are meted out, young men are nowhere to be found—and Gene begins to wonder if the world they’ve entered is just as evil as the one they left behind. As life at the refuge grows more perilous, he and Sissy only grow closer. In an increasingly violent world, all they have is each other... if they can only stay alive.”

My Rating: êêêê1/2

My Review: The first book in this series was good a unique. This is very different kind of take on vampires/zombies, with humans as the minorities. It’ was the Hunger Games with vampires. This sequel was kind of awesome. Gene and Sissy may have escaped the hunt, but they are still the prey. They’re looking for what Gene’s father, the Scientist, called, the Land of Milk and Honey, Fruit and Sunshine.

And when they meet a girl named Clair, who’s been expecting them, they think that they’re almost there. She asks them if they have the Origin, but they have no clue what that means and they later one on try to figure it out. Clair agrees to take them where ever she came from. They end up in this secluded society of hepers/humans. Gene feels that something’s off about this place. To me it did seem a little sexist, how they treated the women, but there’s a lot more to this. You’ll find out later.

I love the world building. I know there’s a few other series in which vampires take over the world (The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa, Darkness Before Dawn by J.A. London. Both of which I have not read yet). There’s also the movie Daybreakers, but the main character in that was a vampire. The main character in this series is a human, and he thought of himself as a heper his whole life. I feel that he’s lacking in personality because the way that he was raise. Gene is very introverted, and a loner. He fell for this girl he calls Ashley June, who turned out to be another human in hiding in the last book. She’s not really in this book. Sissy and the other kids from the dome are in the book. Sissy is tough and awesome at throwing daggers. I like her better than Ashley June anyways. There’s Epap, who likes Sissy. Sissy’s little brother, Ben. There’s also Jacob and David.

Besides the characters, interesting plot and amazing world building, I love the author’s descriptive writing style. He writes in first person, present tense, and he describes the setting and whatever’s going on in a beautiful, horrifying way. There’s some really gruesome description in some parts. It’s really easy to picture the scene with all the description. There isn’t too much that it seems to dag, on but there isn’t too little.

This book is exciting, not boring. At the beginning there were some slow parts, but the speed up. I had to remember the characters. I forgot how they looked, and who was who since reading The Hunt. But once I got into, I got really into it. There was this part where Gene and Sissy find out some really important, mind-blowing things. I did not expect this at all. It’s like the story did and 180, and what Gene thought was true was actually a lie. There’s also something about Gene that I figured out pretty quickly because it seemed kind of obvious. The main character always seems to have an important purpose, but I like that cliché. And then later on towards the end, there’s another twist. Two actually. One, I was right all along, and the second was something I didn’t expect at all.

Andrew Fukuda. You are a sci-fi genius. And a plotting genius. Now I’m eagerly anticipating the third and final book of The Hunt trilogy. I’m guessing it’ll be called The Kill. Four letters. The Hunt, The Prey, The Kill. HUNT, PREY, KILL. It’s not Eat, Pray, Love, but sounds similar in a way.

Thank you, Loren Jaggers at St. Martin’s Press, Macmillan for providing me with a hardcover copy of The Prey almost two weeks before its official release. I did not expect to get a hardcover. Thank you so much. This is one of my favorite dystopian series.

Cover Art Review: This cover is not as good as the first book. But I do like the colors, the use of the letters and the texture (which is velvety). I don’t like the girl running photo, though. Wish there was something scary instead.

This book is also available as an Audiobook! In case you're interested, there's a clip below:

 

 

~Haley G

Tuesday, January 22, 2013

The End is Here for the Unearthly Series


So basically, today the last book in my favorite series (beside Maximum Ride) came out. I'm kind of sad that it's ending. Here are the 3 books (and a novella) in the series: Unearthly, Hallowed, Radiant (e-novella) and Boundless.




 




 
But Epic Reads ( www.epicreads.com ) has put together something amazing. The best ways ever to say goodbye. This End Is Here campaign.
 
And here's the blog post for the Unearthly series:
And here's the forums:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
So here it goes...
Hi. I'm Haley.
I have an Unearthly Obsession.
Some call it Super Fannism.
I think of myself as an Angelholic.
(When it comes to books)


 
 
I love angel books. I probably have about 50, many of which are on my top shelf of my big book case. You can't see them all. I love Hush, Hush, Fallen, Angel Burn, Angelfire, Halo and A Beautiful Dark.
Unearthly is my favorite.
You know what made this my favorite angel book series of all time? The characters and the setting. I read Unearthly with a Wyoming travel book by my side. Jackson Hole, home of the Grand Tetons. Never been there, but now I want to go there so bad! I even went a Google Earth and pinned Jackson Hole and looked at tons of photos.
 
 
 
 
And of course I love the sexy cowboy, Tucker. :)
(This is the guy who played Dan Patch on Hellcats)
 
I love the cover of these book. Metallic, shiny, mono-chromatic. I love the typography. It's like the cover for Beautiful Creatures. But better. That feather is awesome.
 
I took pictures of my bird posing on the covers:
 
"Unbirdly"
 
 
 
"Birdlowed"

 
"Birdless"
 
 
 
She really loves angel book just as much as me. She's a true Angelbird.
 
(Actually, she's a Budgie)
 
I also underlined funny quotes in silver gel pen while reading Unearthly on Spring Break 2011. I took a book vacation cuz we never go on real ones during Spring Break.
 




 
And in Hallowed, I used metallic blue gen pen.

 
 
 
I also decided it was okay to draw in my book, so I did this in metallic gel pen too:
 
 
 
 
 
After reading Hallowed the day is was released, I decided to make fanart. Which I later gave to the author at the Spring Into The Future tour.
 
 
Cynthia seemed really happy with my fanart. So much that she brought her phone out and showed me the cover art for Boundless. I knew it was going to be pink!
 

 
She also signed my books and some bookmarks:

 
 
Now that the series is over, we can only hope for a movie.
But if they ruin it, then I will be very mad.
 
 
 
 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
 
 So grab yourself a copy. I preordered mine and am still waiting for UPS to drop it off.
 
 

Synopsis

The past few years held more surprises than part-angel Clara Gardner ever could have anticipated. Yet through the dizzying high of first love to the agonizing low of losing someone close to her, the one thing she could no longer deny was that she was never meant to have a normal life.
Since discovering the special role she plays among the other angel-bloods, Clara has been determined to protect Tucker Avery from the evil that follows her . . . even if it means breaking both their hearts. Leaving town seemed like the best option, so she's headed back to California—and so is Christian Prescott, the irresistible boy from the vision that started her on this journey in the first place.
As Clara makes her way in a world that is frighteningly new, she discovers that the fallen angel who attacked her is watching her every move. And he's not the only one. . . . With the battle against the Black Wings looming, Clara knows she must finally fulfill her destiny. But it won't come without sacrifices and betrayal.
In the riveting finale of the Unearthly series, Clara must choose her fate once and for all.


Watch the book trailer:
 
 
 
 
Happy Reading!
 
 
 
~Haley G

In My Mail Box 1-22-2013

Lots of interesting stuff came during January. None of which were ARCs. I finally got my Army of Ten prize pack from Gretchen McNeill. The first 7 photos show what came in the prize pack. 4 autographed book and 2 items that 2 characters from TEN would own. Photo 8 shows The Prey. Macmillan gave me a Hardcover Copy to review. And I read it, loved it and reviewed it. The cover is beautiful and textured like velvet. Photos 8, 10 and 11 show Through the Even Night, which I won during the Under the Never Sky re-read on Pitchdark.com. The last 2 photos show 4 library books I have checked out. Can't wait to read Revolution 19. Also, I preordered Boundless by Cynthia Hand, so I should be getting that in the mail soon. I will preorder Shadows in the Silence and Asunder soon. I may not have this pictured, by I got a copy of Prodigy by Marie Lu on Friday at Meijer. They put it ouit over a week early. I should read it, but I'll probably wait.
~Haley G












Sunday, January 20, 2013

Altered by Jennifer Rush


Series: Altered (bk. 1)

Genera: Sci-fi Adventure/ Romance/ Thriller

Subjects: genetic engineering, government agencies, experiments, memory

Age/Grade Level: Teen

Length: 323 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $17.99

Publisher: Hachette: Little, Brown

Summary/ product description: “When you can’t trust yourself, who can you believe?
Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev . . . and Sam, who’s stolen Anna’s heart. When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape, killing the agents sent to retrieve them.
Anna is torn between following Sam or staying behind in the safety of her everyday life. But her father pushes her to flee, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs. There’s just one problem. Sam and the boys don’t remember anything before living in the lab—not even their true identities.
Now on the run, Anna soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.”

My Rating: êêêê1/2

My Review: This sci-fi was a nice change of pace after reading so many paranormal romances lately. It’s NOT dystopian, no matter what it says on Goodreads. It’s about genetically modified guys, and a girl who love one of them. And then there’s the Branch, which is kind of like Itex in Maximum Ride. The sci-fi elements reminded me so much of False Memory by Dan Krokos, and also like Revived by Kat Patrick. If you’re a fan of the Maximum Ride series, you might also like this series. It’s fast-paced. Pages will fly by without you even realizing it.

I loved that most of this book was set in Michigan, even if it started out in New York. It was an adventure with lot of action. Anna, which seemed kind of sheltered at first, turned into a kick butt heroine, and she even learned some important things about her past. There’s the four boys with genetic alterations living in her basement. Cas is probably my favorite. Sam seems too intense. Trev is really smart, and Nick sounds good looking. But Cas, he’s funny and awesome. I love everything he says in this book. When comparing them to the guy of Under The Never Sky, Cas is Roar to Sam’s Perry-like intensity. Nick is mean to Anna, and she think of Trev as her best friend. She visits them in her basement a lot, but she doesn’t seem to have any other friends beside the boys. She takes combat lesson and loves to draw. I can kind of relate to her in the drawing part (and I also took karate for a few years). I draw, and paint.

There’s a lot of mystery and clue and stuff the lead to other things. I love books that keep you guessing. Ones you can make predictions about. This was full of twists and turns and awesome realizations. It’s hard to review this book without spoiling everything, but I was surprised with what I found out. There were some thing I already figured out, but I did not expect this. Read it and find out.

Cover Art Review: Good typography, and a very sexy looking guy. It’s pretty minimal, and I wish there was more on it, but it’s okay.

 

~Haley G

Thursday, January 17, 2013

Full Moon Kisses by Ellen Schreiber


Series: Once in a Full Moon (bk. 3)

Genera: Paranormal Romance

Subjects: Werewolves, shape-shifters, magic, high school, social classes, fortune tellers, love, supernatural

Age/Grade Level: Teen

Length: 215 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $17.99

Publisher: HarperCollins: Katherine Tegen Books

Summary/ product description: “Beware of the full moon.
A werewolf wants to take you into his world. Forever.
Celeste and Brandon know that Nash in werewolf form is bad news. But a new prediction from psychic Dr. Meadows has Celeste wondering: Which of them wants to turn her into a werewolf?
Still on Celeste's and Brandon's minds is the "cure" from Brandon's father. Brandon must face one dilemma he hadn't anticipated—if his dad's serum really does work, is he willing to give up being a werewolf for good? Is Celeste willing to give up her heroic werewolf boyfriend? And when Nash finds out there's a cure, will he try to take it from Brandon as they continue to deal with their rivalry, their competing affections for Celeste, and their struggles with their werewolf identities?
Then things grow still more complicated when a gang of sketchy guys from a neigh-boring town comes to Legend's Run just before the big Werewolf Festival. What, or whom, are they looking for?
The third installment in the sumptuous series about werewolves and the popular girl who loves one is full of danger, mystery, and undeniably romantic full moon kisses.”

My Rating: êêê1/2

My Review: This is the last book in the series. I wish there could be more boos because it feels incomplete to me. All three of the books were very short and light compared to other werewolf series I’ve read. These books were romantic and enjoyable, but felt lacking in some ways. I really love the characters, and the town, but felt like the plot could use some work. It’s over now, so  whatever. I also wish I knew where Legend’s Run is supposed to be. Is it northern Wisconsin or Minnesota? Those are the only places I know where’s there’s wolves and suburbs to a city. Maybe it’s set near Duluth and Superior, the area where we went camping summer 2012. (We saw no wild wolves or bears).

The book put a lot of emphasis on werewolf and full moon stuff. And I feel like it should be obvious that there’s something supernatural going on. Celeste’s friends seem to think it’s all prank, but they should be smarted that that. There’s also a lot of emphasis on the high school  setting. It makes the series seem so unoriginal. Thankfully, the final book had something interesting and not high-school related: The Werewolf Feast! And there’s new characters! This gang of three guys who are werewolves. It shakes things up. Even though Nash became a werewolf in the last book and they discovered a possible cure, thing last book seems fuller, even though it’s a bit shorter. More stuff happens. It just doesn’t seem like the end. Her Vampire Kisses series had way more than 3 books, so why make this a trilogy?

Cover Art Review: Similar to the other covers in the series. I like this photo of the girl the best. I love the indigo lighting on her face.

 

~Haley G

Monday, January 14, 2013

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd


Release Date: January 29, 2013

Series: The Madman’s Daughter (bk. 1)

Genera: Sci-fi/historical fiction

Subjects: Islands, mad scientists, science, surgical modification, retellings, love, experiments

Age/Grade Level: Teen

Length: 420 pgs. (ARC version) 432 pgs. (Hardcover version)

HC/PB: Hardcover

List Price: $17.99

Publisher: HarperCollins: Balzer & Bray

Summary/ product description: “In the darkest places, even love is deadly.
Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think about the scandal that ruined her life. After all, no one ever proved the rumors about her father's gruesome experiments. But when she learns he is alive and continuing his work on a remote tropical island, she is determined to find out if the accusations are true.
Accompanied by her father's handsome young assistant, Montgomery, and an enigmatic castaway, Edward—both of whom she is deeply drawn to—Juliet travels to the island, only to discover the depths of her father's madness: He has experimented on animals so that they resemble, speak, and behave as humans. And worse, one of the creatures has turned violent and is killing the island's inhabitants. Torn between horror and scientific curiosity, Juliet knows she must end her father's dangerous experiments and escape her jungle prison before it's too late. Yet as the island falls into chaos, she discovers the extent of her father's genius—and madness—in her own blood.
Inspired by H. G. Wells's classic The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Madman's Daughter is a dark and breathless Gothic thriller about the secrets we'll do anything to know and the truths we'll go to any lengths to protect.”

My Rating: êêêê

My Review: I’m not a fan of historical fiction. I usually avoid it at all costs. Even the ones with the pretty cover. This book, I would have never read based off the cover. I won an ARC of it. I only requested it because I like free stuff, but I didn’t expect to get this in the mail. When I did, I wasn’t even sure I was going to read it. After the girl from EpicReads said so many good things about it, and finding out that it’s set on a tropical island (and not totally set in London) with creatures created by a mad-scientist, I had to give the book a try. I’m surprised to say I actually enjoyed it. I still don’t like the historical British vocab, but I could look past that too enjoy the sci-fi island adventure that this story truly is.

The beginning of the book is more gothic and dark in a historical London kind of way. Then when she and Montgomery are on the boat, it’s kind of different. But when they arrive on the Island, things get really different and awesome. It felt like a dystopian novel or a castaways survival story, except with a mad scientist. Kind of like Dr. Frankenstein’s Island, or Lost. Juliet thinks all the island “native” are deformed, but later on realizes that they are her father’s creations. This kind of surgery seems impossible to me today, even with plastic surgery, how can you make people out of animals? But since this is science fiction and a retelling, I’ll let the unrealistic science pass. The book was very thrilling with a few twists and turns that kept me guessing, and predicting what was going on.

I love the setting and the uniqueness of the story. I loved picturing a tropical rainforest island. The characters were okay, but I didn’t care for them that much. Juliet thinks she’s mad as her father. He’s a psychopathic scientist, so maybe she’s a guiltless psychopath too, or not. Montgomery I liked at first, but then I was on Team Edward Prince for a while…but I’m not sure if I’d choose either of them now.  The story itself was just so creative and exciting it blew me away. As I said, I did not expect it to be good. It was very good. I hope they do make this into a movie the back of my ARC say (Film rights have been optioned by Paramount Pictures). I had a hard time picturing what the creatures looked like, but I’m sure that some make-up or CGI/green screen could bring them to life.

I’m really wondering what the sequel will be about. Will it be set on the island again or someplace else? And will there be more, different monsters? Is Dr. Moreau going to discover genetic engineering or something like that? I can’t wait to find out. Hope when get the sequel’s title and summary soon.

Cover Art Review: Based off this cover, I would have never picked it up. This cover had historical written all over it, but it says nothing of the tropical island and the creatures that live on it. I really hope that they change the cover in the paperback version because this cover is very generic looking to me.

 

~Haley G