Thursday, April 26, 2012

Destined by Aprilynne Pike

Release Date: May 1st

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series: Laurel series (bk. 4: THE CONCLUSION)

Genera: Paranormal Romance

Subjects: Faeries, Trolls, Love, Fantasy, Magic

Length: 307 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

Summary/product description: “Laurel now knows the truth: Yuki is a rare Winter faerie, the most powerful—and deadly—of all, and she is working with Klea to conquer and destroy Avalon. With Tamani, David, and Chelsea by her side, Laurel prepares for a fight she never thought she would have to face.
Filled with heart-pounding action, sweeping romance, and higher stakes at every turn, Destined is the series conclusion that readers have been clamoring for—with a twist that will leave them breathless.”

My Rating: êêêêê

My Review: They weren’t joking when the said “stunning conclusion.” It really was. The only problem I had with it was that it ended. Why can’t there be more???? SPIN OFF SERIES PLEASE!!!!

The book begins with action, and continues throughout it. Lots of killing Trolls/Lots of Trolls killing. More awesome King Arthur related mythology (MAGIC SWORD!!!). I’m not even sure how to describe this book without spoiling it. Let’s see….some people die, others almost die, death, death…anyways, you’ll just have to read it to find out. I got the ARC, I read it early. Will Laurel choose between Tamani or David? Will Chelsea and David help Laurel save Avalon? Will they defeat Klea? Mysteries and secrets are revealed. What is their destiny? BA-DUM-BA-DUMMMM!!!!!

So, great conclusion. Awesome fight scenes. Tons of crazy awesome faery stuff. READ IT!!!

Cover Art Review: This is the most beautiful cover of the series! It’s supposed to be like a winter faery blossom. I love how the light plays on the petals. Watercolor rainbows. The only thing I don’t like is the outer glow on the title. It’s too thick. With that serif typeface, it look like a tacky bubbly. Everything else is great.

~Haley G

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 4-25

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which every Wednesday bloggers talk about a book that they are eagerly anticipating the release of."

Endure by Carrie Jones
Series: Need (bk. 4)

Release Date: May 8th

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Description: “It’s all-out war (and no-holds-barred romance) in the climactic conclusion to Carrie Jones’s bestselling series.

Zara is at the center of an impending apocalypse. True, she’s successfully rescued Nick from Valhalla, but it simply isn’t enough. Evil pixies are ravaging Bedford, and they need much more than one great warrior; they need an army. Zara isn’t sure what her role is anymore. She’s not just fighting for her friends; she’s also a pixie queen. And to align her team of pixies with the humans she loves will be one of her greatest battles yet. Especially since she can’t even reconcile her growing feelings for her pixie king . . .

Unexpected turns, surprising revelations, and one utterly satisfying romantic finale make Endure a thrilling end to this series of bestsellers”

This series is so funny. Zara is always cracking me up. I’m so happy that Nick’s back. I really want her to be with him and not the pixie guy. This book is also the last of the series, which means I’ll be very disappointed after I’m done with it. I hope it ends well. I really like the setting and everything. I’m gonna miss it!

~Haley G

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 4-18

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which every Wednesday bloggers talk about a book that they are eagerly anticipating the release of.

Dreamless by Josephine Angelini
Series: Starcrossed (bk. 2)

Release Date: May 29th

Publisher: HarperTeen

Description: “As the only Scion that can enter Hades at will, Helen descends to the Underworld in search of a way to overcome the Furies and end the cycle of revenge that has cursed the Scions. But she’s running out of time. Each descent weakens her both in mind and spirit. A mysterious stranger might be her only salvation, but the price may be her love for Lucas Delos.
As an unforgettable love triangle emerges, Josephine Angelini’s compelling saga becomes ever more intricate and spellbinding. The eagerly awaited sequel to the internationally bestselling Starcrossed, Dreamless delivers with a huge emotional impact that will leave readers satisfied—and longing for more.”

Sequel! So excited! The 1st book was awesome! Helen’s like super girl plus lightning powers! And Lucas is so hot! The only problem I had with the book was the length, but everything else was great. This book is 487 pgs, a bit longer. But I love mythology and can’t wait to read some more!

~Haley G

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting

Release Date: April 17th

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series: The Body Finder series (bk.  3)

Genera: Paranormal Romance/murder mystery thriller

Subjects: Kidnappings, murderers, serial killers, psychic ability, FBI

Length: 358 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

Summary/ product description: “Violet kept her morbid ability to sense dead bodies a secret from everyone except her family and her childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Jay Heaton. That is until forensic psychologist Sara Priest discovered Violet's talent and invited her to use her gift to track down murderers. Now, as she works with an eclectic group of individuals—including mysterious and dangerously attractive Rafe—it's Violet's job to help those who have been murdered by bringing their killers to justice. When Violet discovers the body of a college girl killed by "the girlfriend collector" she is determined to solve the case. But now the serial killer is on the lookout for a new "relationship" and Violet may have caught his eye.”

My Rating: êêêêê

My Review: This series just keeps getting better and better! I love Jay and Violet! I love Violet’s unique ability! Finding body by their echoes, sensing imprints on killers. This series is a wonderful mix of funny, creepy, scary and just plain awesome. And this killer is the creepiest yet. He kidnaps women and wants them to love him, and if they don’t, he kills them (no spoiler in here). 

Also, there’s new characters! Rafe was new in the last book, along with Sara Priest. Rafe is kinda moody, and I don’t like the idea of a love triangle between Violet, him and Jay. “TEAM JAY ALL THE WAY!” I like Rafe, but Violet needs to stay with Jay. (And the name Rafe makes me think of werewolves from another series…) The new characters are the other psychics on their team. It’s awesome. Most of them have psychometry of some kind, and empathy and one’s a medium. I won’t tell you who has what.

And there's another bad guy who Violet meets. Some gang banger who’s mad at her. Side stories like these make things even more interesting. Things are getting really dangerous for Violet and her family doesn’t want her working on the team anymore.

There’s a lot more action and surprises. You won’t be disappointed with this book! I can’t wait to read book 4!!!

Cover Art Review: The flower is lilac, the color of the nail polish the killer puts on the girls. It’s a nice touch!

~Haley G

Sunday, April 15, 2012

RT Convention Teenday

Basicaly, I went to teen day with my mom and 2 backpacks of books. It was really crowded, bt I got all my books signed. I only bought 1 book (Obsidian) and had to wait in line forever just to get out of there. I missed Author speed dating because of it, and I ate lunch in the car. I went to both author speed readings panels. Then at the teenday party, I ended up with a bag of book I already bought, so I switched it and traded with lots of other people. This is what I ended up bring homw. Tons of swag. (Unsorted, then sorted) And a bunch of ARC books, and other books.
~Haley G

Thursday, April 12, 2012

In My Mail Box 4-12 and Pre Pub Event

Last night was the Leigh Bardugo Pre-Pub event for her book Shadow and Bone. As you can see from the pictures below I made her fan-art (her first ever fan-art) and she was so happy when I gave it to her, she hugged me. There was also a raffel. The publisher was giveing away books. I won an ARC of Monument 14 (which I am going read ASAP), Glow (which I had the ARC already), Anna Dressed in Blood (which I read, loved and finally now own!), Ruby Red (Looks like a good book), Princess Academy (which I kept even though I don't know when I'll ever read it) and The Girl Who Circuvated Fairyland in a Ship of her Own Making (Whic I gave away because I don't read kiddy books or historical fiction. It's not my kind of fairytale). I also got swag! Alot of Shadow and Bone buttons!!! Yay! And I also got to meet 2 other authors. Author of Torn, Erica O'Rourke, and author of upcoming steampunk book, Something Strange and Deadly, Susan Dennard. I know Erica is going to be at RT, so I might be able to get a signed copy of her book there!

~Haley G

See photos:

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 4-11

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which every Wednesday bloggers talk about a book that they are eagerly anticipating the release of."

Destined by Aprilynne Pike
Series: Laurel series (bk. 4)

Release Date: May 1st

Publisher: HarperTeen

Description: “Laurel now knows the truth: Yuki is a rare Winter faerie, the most powerful—and deadly—of all, and she is working with Klea to conquer and destroy Avalon. With Tamani, David, and Chelsea by her side, Laurel prepares for a fight she never thought she would have to face.

Filled with heart-pounding action, sweeping romance, and higher stakes at every turn, Destined is the series conclusion that readers have been clamoring for—with a twist that will leave them breathless. “

First off, this is the final book in the series. The cover is supposed to be a winter faery blossom (Wings was Fall, Spells was Spring, Illusions was Summer). I thinks it’s awesome that we were introduced to Yuki. I’m really excited to see what happens! I love both David and Tamani! What will be the twist? Is she going to choose? Or is someone going to die? I hope David doesn’t die!!!

~Haley G

Monday, April 9, 2012

Unraveling by Elizabeth Norris

Release Date: April 24th

Publisher: HarperTeen: B&B

Series: Unraveling (bk. 1)

Genera: Sci-fi thriller/paranormal romance

Subjects: Parallel universes, mystery, action, abilities

Length: 445 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

Summary/ product description: “Two days before the start of her junior year, seventeen-year-old Janelle Tenner is hit by a pickup truck and killed—as in blinding light, scenes of her life flashing before her, and then nothing. Except the next thing she knows, she's opening her eyes to find Ben Michaels, a loner from her high school whom Janelle has never talked to, leaning over her. And even though it isn't possible, she knows—with every fiber of her being—that Ben has somehow brought her back to life.

But her revival, and Ben's possible role in it, is only the first of the puzzles that Janelle must solve. While snooping in her FBI agent father's files for clues about her accident, she uncovers a clock that seems to be counting down to something—but to what? And when someone close to Janelle is killed, she can no longer deny what's right in front of her: Everything that's happened—the accident, the murder, the countdown clock, Ben's sudden appearance in her life—points to the end of life as she knows it. And as the clock ticks down, she realizes that if she wants to put a stop to the end of the world, she's going to need to uncover Ben's secrets—and keep from falling in love with him in the process.

From debut author Elizabeth Norris comes this shattering novel of one girl's fight to save herself, her world, and the boy she never saw coming.”

My Rating: ê ê ê ê ê

My Review: I’m not sure how to start describing this book. It’s like Fringe/X-files meets Paranormal Romance. I love Fringe. I loved this book. It was. Really. That awesome. (The following may contain spoilers, but without them I wouldn’t be about to describe it any further) Janelle is a funny, sarcastic characters, and her friend Alex is also funny. All the characters are pretty well developed. The plot is really good. I like the countdown chapter format. The Gone series does it to. The countdown adds to the anticipation of the climax. To add to the fast paced storyline, it’s also written in first person, present tense. I love the universe-crossed lovers relationship of Janelle and Ben (Like Olivia and Peter kind of). There are things you will never see coming in this book. It will keep you guessing till the very end. If you think you know who the killer is, or whose causing the events, you thought wrong.

I recommend this book to fans of sci-fi books and TV shows, like Fringe/X-files, Maximum Ride series, or apocalyptic/dystopian fiction. And anyone who ever think FBI stuff is cool. (Men in Black fans?)

Cover Art Review: I love the cover! If only the Maximum Ride cover were like this (she looks like Max..) I love how the images are blended, and the count down makes me think of the Matrix. The cover fits the genera.

~Haley G

Thursday, April 5, 2012

The Selection by Kiera Cass

Release Date: April 24th

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series: The Selection (bk. 1)

Genera: Dystopian, Romance

Subjects: Royalty, contests/reality show, castes symstem

Length: 327 pgs.

HC/PB: Hardcover

Summary/ product description: “For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself- and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.”

My Rating: ê ê ê ê 1/2
My Review: What if a princess was chosen The Bachelor style? That’s what’s happening in this book. And it’s very interesting idea. Especially since America didn’t want to be chosen in the first place. Instead of vying for the prince’s love, she ends up befriending him. Some of the other girls get jealous of their time together and America keeps her true intentions a secret. I really enjoyed some of the banter between America and Maxton. It’s ridiculous. I just wanted her to forget about Aspen and just kiss Maxton already! (It’s like yelling at people on a reality show, in your head. “SHUT UP AND KISS HIM ALREADY!!!” lol). If there were Team Maxton and Team Aspen in this series, I’m Team Maxton. Of course I won’t spoil how Aspen comes back.

Some books this book reminds me of: Matched (the romance), The Hunger Games (especially the interviews) , Whither (The multiple woman for one guy). Only, this book combines all that and makes it better. Sure, there not much sci-fi to it other than the US being a different country and the rebels, but it’s a fantastic mix of fantasy, sci-fi and romance.
Cover Art Review: Similar photography to the Shatter Me cover. This one used a mirror too (a mirror box room). The camera cannot be seen though. It look like an infinite selection of girls, but it’s all the girl that looks like America. I like the dress. It’s kinda frilly, but very pretty. The title typeface is customized, and very nice. The crown design is okay, but may have not been necessary.

~Haley G

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Waiting on Wednesday 4-4

"Waiting on Wednesday" is a meme hosted by Breaking the Spine in which every Wednesday bloggers talk about a book that they are eagerly anticipating the release of."

Sweet Evil

by Wendy Higgins

“What if there were teens whose lives depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.

Tenderhearted Southern girl, Anna Whitt, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

A cross-country trip to meet her father forces Anna to face the reality that hope and love are not options for her kind. When she confronts her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?”

I love angel books! I love it when there's a new series with angels. That's why I'm so excited about this one. The story was originally on inkpop. I never got to read it, but I can't wait to get my hands on it.

It comes out: MAY 1st !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
~Haley G 

Tuesday, April 3, 2012

In My Mail Box 4-3

These are some of the ARC book I have gotten (or, atleast the ones I'm actually going to read). The bottem 2 are more recent. I got those for the pre pub events from Anderson's Book Shop. They both don't come out till summer. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo and Cold Fury by T.M. Goeglen.

The books in the bottem picture I won in the design challenge by Hyperion. Life Eternal I already read. I asked for The Marked by Inara Scott, but I guess they didn't have copies yet.
~Haley G