Sunday, July 31, 2011

Hexbound by Chloe Neill

Title: Hexbound
Author: Chloe Neill
Series: The Dark Elite (Book 2)
Genera: Supernatural/paranormal romance
Subjects: Magic, boarding schools, psychics, vampires, werewolves
Length: 246 pgs. Paperback
Rating: ê ê ê ê ê +

This is the sequel to Firespell. Lily’s still getting used to being an Adept with the power of Firespell as well as a new student at St. Sophia’s Boarding School for girls in downtown Chicago. Her roommate, Scout, is a Spellbinder, and can create spells and make them work. Lily’s boyfriend. Her life has changed so much since she moved to Chicago. So when things get weirder, and strange rat-like creatures show up and attack in the tunnel the Adept of Enclave 3 patrol as well as Reapers and Vampires and their turf wars, Lily and her friends in Enclave 3 must band together. Lily’s power may be grawing, but she will need all the help she can get.

I love this series. I live in a suburb of Chicago, so I am especially liking the setting. It makes it easier to picture what’s going on where because I’ve been downtown many times. And Jason is from Naperville, which is only a few miles away. A werewolf? From here? Seriously? I can relate to Lily because she is artistic. I love to draw and paint too. And I love all the fun dialog. This book was never boring. Scout says a lot of funny stuff. I wish I read this book sooner, like back in January when it came out. I totally recommend this book to all paranormal lovers. If you like Hex Hall, House of Night, read Firespell, and you will love it. Then read Hexbound. Then visit Chicago. Lol.

Art Review: I love this cover way more than the first book’s. I love the green and blue color combo, and Lily with fire spell in hand. It looks so awesome. Wish it was hardcover so it could look even cooler.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Flying Blind by Deborah Cooke

Title: Flying Blind

Author: Deborah Cooke (aka Claire Delacroix)

Series: The Dragon Diaries

Genera: Fantasy/supernatural/paranormal romance

Subjects: Dragons, psychics, destiny, shape shifters, magic, mages

Length: 309 pgs. Paperback

Rating: êêê

Zoë is supposed to be the Wyvern of the dragon shape shifters called the Pyr. The Wyvern is the only female Pyr. There is only ever one at a time. She is supposed to have special abilities, and Zoë, whose 15 and a half, has been waiting for her powers to appear. When her friend, Meagan, gets bullied after gym, Zoë steps into defend her, accidentally almost shifting partially. Her talons and eyes only, but still, she has broken the covenant to keep shifters secret. Her Dad sends her to boot camp so she can learn to gain control of her now appearing powers.

This book looked really interesting. I just was confused when reading it. I read Firelight by Sophie Jordan last year and though the whole dragon shape shifter thing sounded cool so I checked this book out. I did think that it was cool that Zoë lived in Chicago (Because I live near it) and that she has a great sense of humor. I also liked the lists in the book. “5 things” list that gave interesting info about Pyr and Mages. There was also the four elements: water, fire, earth and air. I’ve read many book where characters have affinities for elements. The descriptions in this book were good. Dragon scales were gem and metal colored.

This book felt like it was lacking a few things. Either the guys didn’t feel hot enough, or they just didn’t seem to play a big role. There just wasn’t much romance. I can’t even remember Nick or Jared hair color, only that Jared had the greenest eyes. I guess I couldn’t get into the book because the whole dragon thing was a bit confusing. And what is a messenger? A cell phone or mp3 player? I was confused.

Art Review: I like the cover, but I think it could used a bigger dragon on it. I almost thought it was an angel book when I saw Flying Blind, but then saw The Dragon Diaries in the top corner. So, I guess Zoë probably has green eyes and dark hair based off the cover. The blue stuff around her is light that surrounds Pyr when they shift. The cover works. Nice texture too.

~Haley G

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

Forget about normal!

In honor of the release of Supernaturally, sequel to Paranormalcy, I made a DeviantART meme that all the artsy fans can fill out for fun. I wish they’d make a Paranomalcy manga, That would be cool.
~Haley G

Here is the bleeping awesome meme:

Sunday, July 24, 2011

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Title: Supernaturally

Author: Kiersten White

Genera: Supernatural/paranormal romance

Subjects: Vampires, werewolves, shape shifters, faeries, souls, humor, romance

Length: 336 pgs. Hardcover

Rating: ê ê ê ê ê +

Now that Evie has the normal life she always wanted, she starts to long for her good old paranormal life she had at the IPCA. Raquel shows up and gives her a chance to voluntarily for them again. Lend doesn’t want her to take the offer, and Evie has mixed feeling about it too, but she ends up doing it anyway without telling Lend. I wouldn’t want to spoil anything. Especially before it even comes out.

Oh bleep! Bleep! BLEEP!!!! I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVVVVEEEE THESE BOOKS. Why don’t I review it poetically?

I love this series. I love these book. I’ve loved this sequel since I gave the cover a look. I love Evie and Lend, for it’s their awesomeness I defend. There’s no reason to otherwise pretend. As a fan now, I read this sequel and said, “Oh, bleep! Wow!” Lend is still hot, Evie’s gym teacher is not. This funny book has an awesome plot. I love it a lot. Sparkly pink Tasey, glamours can be hazy, My rhyming is not lazy. “Oh bleep!” I say, this Tuesday will be a great day! Last Saturday I bought this at Meijer. I am not a liar. So glad to have had the chance to read this prior. By next Thurday, possible sooner, this book will be a NYT bestseller, or I’m going lunar. #1 book this summer. I promise you, it will not be a bummer! So, early Tuesday, head to the bookstore. Grab this book, pay before you walk out the door. Kiersten White will be happy, and so will you. This book will cheer you up if you are blue. The laughs in this book will stick to you like eye glue. Fun and sassy if you’re a lassie. Read it or I will tell Evie to sick Tasey on you! (No joke)

Seriously…I think we should have a release party for this book. I wish the author would read that poem? Anybody know the email address so I can fan mail it to her? Can’t wait till Endlessly comes out next year!

Art Review: Awesome matte jacket cover with gold letters. I love the dress on the Evie model once again. The dark red looks really cool. And the stormy sky. Very supernatural looking.

~Haley G

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Fins Are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs

Title: Fins Are Forever

Author: Tera Lynn Childs

Series: Forgive My Fins (book 2)

Genera: Supernatural/paranormal/fantasy

Subjects: Mermaids, magic, kingdoms, family, romance, high school, college choice, career choice

Length: 261 pgs. Hardcover

Rating: ê ê ê ê

Sequel to Forgive My Fins. Lily’s 18th birthday is approaching and on that day she will renounce her title as princess of Thalassinia. She will become just plain old girl-next-store Lily, girlfriend of Quince. Lily has never thought about going to college until now because she didn’t need it to rule her kingdom. She wants a career that she can still help her kingdom from above with. And SAT are coming up. As Lily would say, Damselfish! Her cousin Doe shows up on her door step and says she’s been exiled. What did Doe do to get such a punishment? When Doe starts going after Lily’s old crush, Brody, Lily knows that her trouble are just going to get worse and worse. Mers aren’t built for this much stress. How will Lily survive till her birthday, let alone the SATs?

I really like these books. They’re so fun to read. Tera Lynn Childs is very chick-lit, like Meg Cabot. There’s humor, romance and one problem on top of another. But, this squel started off kind of slow. Not much seemed to happen until a lot happened at once. I think I like the 1st book better, but this one is definitely worth the shot. Quince is still awesome and Lily is still a forgetful klutz. Add Doe into the mix and you get some crazy and ridiculous conflict going. Doe hates humans, but she sure knows how to fit in. I really liked the parts when Doe asks “What’s an email?” or “So that’s a camera?”

Really, give the sequel a shot. Read Forgive My Fins and then Fins Are Forever.

Art Review: I think I love this cover better than the 1st books! I know the girl looks nothing like Lily, but teal hair is awesome! I love the colors! I wanna do that to my hair on photoshop! She looks like a mermaid, so it’s very obvious that this is a mermaid book, but the cover is kind of too glossy. But it’s totally fit for a summer read look.

~Haley G

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Requiems for Borders

Borders, my favorite store is dying. Going out of business. Leaving the face of the Earth. Once they’re gone, I’ll have to buy books at Barnes & Noble, Wal-mart, Target, Meijer, Anderson’s book shop….some place else. Since I do not have a job that makes money, my dad won’t let my buy stuff online (except textbooks). I a very sad. Depressed, even. I only found out last night. The Wheaton Borders was remodeling….and it was all for nothing. I just got Borders Rewards plus almost 2 months ago, and haven’t even got my free book yet (I was waiting for Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer to come out) or used the other coupons. I don’t know what to do. Maybe thing will stop me from buying so many books. But really, is everything in the store comes down to 70%-90% off, I’ll have 3 bags full. I should just buy my favorite series for now on, but I still keep buying books at Goodwill. I’m running out of shelf space. Well, here is an article that you all should read:

~Haley G

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Blood Red Road by Moira Young

Title: Blood Red Road

Author: Moira Young

Series: Dustlands

Genera: Sci-fi dystopia

Subjects: Kidnapping, Hand-to-Hand fighting, Brothers and sisters, Twins, Coming of age, Orphans

Length: 459 pgs

Rating: ê ê ê

After a dust storm, men know as Tonton show up in Silver lake and kidnap Saba’s twin brother Lugh, and kill her dad. Saba must save Lugh, so she and her sister Emmi leave Silverlake and set out on a journey across Sandsea to a place called Hopetown. Saba doesn’t realize just how much danger lies ahead, and how much danger Lugh is in. Saba’s not such a nice girl, and is real mean to her sister, especially after Emmi ends up following her rather than staying with Mercy for Crosscreek.

This book was different. Bad different. There are now quotation marks for the dialog, so I was never exactly sure what was being said out loud unless followed by I say or something. Even worse, it was written (all of it, cuz it‘s in 1st person) in a very southern/western dialect. I thought I was reading True Grit (I only saw the new movie) when I started it. I wish I listen to the audio book instead. It was all ain’t and caint and git…..Oh, and the chapter….there are no chapters. They’re more like parts. One is about 30 pages, another is over 100 pages. I prefer the James Patterson like short chapters, so the length of these made in not very fast pased for me.

The few things I did like about this book? One, Nero the crow! What a great companion Saba has. Crows are smart, but Nero acts like he’s at least 2% human (at least….Maximum Ride reference)…or like he’s got the brain of a 6-8 year old child. Very smart for a bird. (Smarter than my budgie). Two, I like the humor. It was pretty funny at times, even with the westernish talk. Three, I like the desterty dystopia feel.

Well, I do recommend this to people I they liked Hunger Games, Enclave, or Maze Runner. And, if you don’t mind books out of the normal form.

~Haley G

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs

Title: Tempest Rising

Author: Tracy Deebs

Genera: Supernatural/paranormal/fantasy

Subjects: Mermaids, selkies, magic, family, romance

Length: 341 pages, Hardcover

Rating: ê ê ê ê ê

Tempest Maguire is half mermaid. Her mother left her and her brothers six years ago with the promise that she would return. With her 17th birthday approaching, Tempest is going to have to go though all her mermaid changes by herself. Tempest loves to surf, but she is afraid of losing herself to the sea once the mermaid changes begin. Some of the changes are already beginning. Suddenly she has gills. She sees a stranger surfing during a storm. He comes ashore and introduces himself a Kona. Who is Kona? And will Tempest be able to decide between the land and the sea?

This is probably one of the best Mermaid books I have ever read. Emily Windsnap was cutesy and I love Forgive my Fins, but this one had so much to it. I’ve read a few books that had selkies, and I think it’s pretty cool that mermaid and selkies are co-existing in the ocean, not just two words for the same being.

Tempest seemed like a strong female character. I love is when the main character is sarcastic. Makes the book fun to read. Kona is very hot, and also acted sarcastic at times. I love it when the characters do funny, feisty banter. I didn’t like Tempest’s on/off boyfriend Mark so much because he seemed possessive. In a protective sort of way, but still. Tempest’s little brother were okay. Rio didn’t do much, but little Moku looked up to Tempest.

I was surprised how good this book was. The cover does not do it justice.

Art Review: This cover’s jacket is matte. The art on it does not look very contemporary YA. It looks more like an adult paperback romance from the late 80’s. Maybe it’s the title’s text. The girl on the cover is okay, especially the awesome tattoo, but the background could have used more “ouff.” Like a real tempest brewing. Waves hitting rocks, and lightning flashing. That’s what I would’ve done.

~Haley G

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Bumped by Megan McCafferty

Title: Bumped

Author: Megan McCafferty

Genera: Sci-fi dystopia

Subjects: pregnancy, dystopia, twins

Rating: ê ê ê ê

Bumped is a very unique dystopian novel set 25 years in the future after a virus caused everyone over 18 to become infertile. Teenage girls become surrogates for older couples. The media is pushing teen to have sex and prevent extinction.

The book switched between the perspectives of newly reacquainted identical twin sisters Melody and Harmony. They start to question what they have been taught about what is right in society. Melody has a contract to pregg professionally for a rich couple. Harmony grew up living by the rules of the Church, forced into a marriage she doesn’t truly want.

This novel is creative and full of fun word play (pegging, egging, MaSEXtinction parties, Do the Deed, Born to Breed…ect.) It’s filled with humor (especially the Melody parts). It’s a great read for both teenage girls and possibly their mothers.

I really enjoyed the funny parts and awesome twists. I don’t want to spoil it. Read it, you won’t regret it.

Art review:

Not much I can say. It’s pretty simple. An egg, pregg……the text is very sci-fi-chic.

~Haley G

Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

Title: Born at Midnight

Author: C.C. Hunter

Series: Shadow Falls Series

Genera: Supernatural/paranormal romance

Subjects: Psychic ability, faeries, vampires, werewolves, shape shifters, camps

Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin

Rating: ê ê ê ê ê

After her parent divorce and her mother find out she went to a party with alcohol present, Kylie is sent to a summer camp with the mysterious name of Shadow Falls. She soon finds out the campers are more than human and that she is possible not human. Kylie doesn’t want to be anything but normal. She didn’t realize Soldier Dude was a ghost, and that her dreams are more than just dreams. She’s in total denial of her own abilities. The fact that she was Born at Midnight says otherwise.

The love interests in this novel are Derek and Lucas. Derek is part fairy, Lucas is a werewolf. Kylie like Derek and is still afraid of Lucas. She thinks Lucas killed her cat years ago.

Kylie makes a few friends: Della, a vamp and Miranda, a witch. Their friendship is fun of honesty, just like it says on the back cover.

Shadow Falls sounds like a cool camp. This book is definitely a summer read! And if you like House of Night, then you’ll love this.

I liked this book because it was funny, and immersing. Kylie reminded me of Stevie Rae from HON. A nice southern girl. Kind of innocent at times, but stubborn at others.

That’s it. Read on!

Art review:

Another great cover. It’s matte and metallic purple. Nice composition with the V of the tree, and the girl that’s supposed to be Kylie. The next 2 books’ covers also look amazing.

~Haley G

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Title: Unearthly

Author: Cynthia Hand

Series: The Unearthly Trilogy

Genera: Supernatural/paranormal/fantasy

Subject: Angels, romance, purposes, Wyoming, family and relationships

Publisher: HarperTeen

Rating: ê ê ê ê ê +

Clara is an Angel-blood who just found out the purpose to her existence on this earth. That’s why she, her mom and her brother end up moving from California to Jackson Hole, Wyoming. There she meets Christian, the boy from her vision, the one she’s suppose to save. The also meets a guy named Tucker who like to tease her, but she eventually starts to fall for him as well as Christian. A lot happens in this book, and I wouldn’t want to spoil it, so I will just give my opinion.

BEST. BOOK. EVER! (After Maximum Ride, of course.)

I’m not joking, this book was too good. I wish the next one (Hallowed, comes out sometime next year) would come sooner.
First, it’s about angels and nephilim. I’ve read Hush, Hush and Fallen and loved those, but this one ended up being even better than those. Clara has wings and can fly, so I was very interested and took my time to savor the angelic flavor of this book.

Second, awesome setting! Wyoming sounds like the coolest place I’ve never been, and after reading this book I really want to visit. I have a Wyoming travel magazine beside me when I read some parts. Many of the places in the book are real, and you can find pictures on Google Earth. I loved immersing myself in those places and landscape as I read the book.
Third, hot guys. Hot guys, don’t you love them? Christian had the kind of look I prefer, but Tucker, he had the personality. Tucker reminded me of Dan from Hellcats or possibly Brad Paisley. Modern country cowboys are fun love interests. Tucker made me smile, laugh and cry.

Overall, it’s a great read whether it’s summer or winter. Angels. Great setting. Hot guys. Read it! J
Art review (In which I give my opinion on the cover. Yes, this is the twist.)

Great cover. It’s matte with title and author’s name done in silver metallic gloss. The title has been puffed out. The feather and swirls add a nice touch. The girl in the dress probably has to dark of hair to be Clara (Clara has strawberry blond-turned orange). The dress is okay. Nice indigo coloriztion done to the girl and background photo. The back cover also has a shiny silver feather The inside cover, if you take the jacket off, has the title press in silver with swirls and a feather. It’s a really beautiful book. I doubt I could have designed it better myself.

 ~Haley G (writer and artist)


About this blog

Upcoming Reviews

These are 1st 6 books that I plan to review:

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand

Born at Midnight by C.C. Hunter

Bumped by Megan McCafferty

Tempest Rising by Tracy Deebs

Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Fins are Forever by Tera Lynn Childs

I will use the standard 5 star rating system, with only a small modification

0 stars= Horribly boring and hated it

1 star= I didn’t like it and it bored me or was not my type

2 stars= It was okay, but I couldn’t get into it

3 stars= I liked it somewhat

4 stars= I really liked it

5 stars= I loved it

5 star and a + = Favorite book

~Haley G

ê ê ê ê ê



I moved blogs so enjoy this one!

You might ask why I named my new review blog after the book series I'm writing. The short answer: I'm lazy and need a good name quick.
My old blog that I haven't updated since last year is this:

I started that one because I was taking pop-lit and thought it would be cool to blog it. This blog is going to be basically what other YA bloggers have done, but probably with a twist. I just gotta figure out what that twist will be. I have a few other blogs if you want to check them out. I used to blog more often (see Angels on the Run! blog) and had a lot of fun doing it. Sure, it was role play and one of my friends helped me. People actually believed it. It was kinda funny. Gave me story ideas.

So, now I'm wondering, what should I do with my new blog? I'll probably design graphics for the template and add widgets first. After that I can start reviewing. But what YA paranormal romance books should I review? And how often. I read too much so I'll probably only review the recently released ones I read (aka, things that came out within the past year or so).

Before I get started, let me tell you a bit about myself. I’m a 18-year-old girl with dishwater-blond hair and blue-gray eyes, average height. I love to draw, paint, take photos, make jewelry, collect rocks, read YA and write stories. I go to Goodwill too much and buy Native American art, pottery and dream catchers, as well as anything made of agate or Asian art. I also buy book there, and I buy books at Borders. I just got Borders Plus, so I’m buying things there almost every week now. My favorite color is blue. I like sunsets and beaches, and anything Pure Michigan (My fav state to vacation. It‘s a artist obsession, really). My favorite book series is Maximum Ride by James Patterson. I like books about angels of winged people. I like to write stories that involve flying or light powers. Breathless: Discovering the Light will be my first book. Sometimes I think I can see the future. I see myself in front of an audience of avid reader, my hardcover first book in front of me. People asking me questions. Fans giving me fan art (Maybe I had drawings of my characters in the back of the book?) and me thanking them. Photos with me (hopefully not looking crappy). It’s really weird. I guess this is my destiny. My purpose. Maybe I should review Unearthly by Cynthia Hand first because it’s the best book I read so far this year. Lol. You must think I’m weird. My best friend thinks I’m random. I agree.

So, see ya soon!!!!! :P

~Haley G